Art Club

I completed my work placement at level 5 at Mostyn Gallery, Llandudno.  Part of the placement was assisting at their monthly Family Art clubs, where I would help the club leader with the setting up, keeping supplies well stocked and clearing up at the end of the session, and generally assisting if and when any attendees required.  I found this to be a positive experience and continued to attend as a volunteer for a while after the required number of hours for the module had been completed.

Last week I had a telephone call from The Learning and Engagement Manager at Mostyn who asked me if I could lead a monthly art session as part of a local Gingerbread event. Gingerbread is a charity which offers support to lone parents and they had booked the meeting room at the gallery, who would provide an art club for the children. I jumped at the chance to do this, as feel it could lead to further opportunities in the future.

Today was my first session, the only brief I had was that the activity should compliment the exhibition We’ve got Mail ll, showing in gallery 1.

Part of “We’ve got Mail” exhibition – Showing in Gallery 1

The exhibition looks at the history of the postcard in Llandudno, and consists of a range of examples of the use of postcards over the years.

These postcards were made by a 6 and a 4 year old today. I love that they have drawn part of the design themselves.

These postcards were made by a 6 and a 4 year old today. I love that they have drawn part of the design themselves.

The gallery provided blank postcards and I printed sheets of beach related images which could use to create our own postcards. There were only 4 children in the group, I started by talking to them about how lucky we were to live where we did and how people like to come to the seaside for their holidays, we then went to see the exhibition and looked at the different types of postcards. The children seemed to like going to see the display and I was pleased that they engaged with me on the subject.

These were made by the older girls in the group, who were around ages 13 and 11

These were made by the older girls in the group, who were around ages 13 and 11

I feel that I was lucky today and whilst the children had a large age difference, they all worked independently producing some excellent work. I was there for help and guidance when required. They all seemed to enjoy themselves, the length of the session was long enough for them to produce a finished piece of work but not too long that they got bored.  I’m already thinking of ideas for the next session which is at the end of November.

Leave a Reply

