Future Options

Rebecca from careers came to talk to us on an individual basis last week. I initially didn’t really feel I had anything to discuss with her,  but when she asked if I knew what I was doing after graduating I had to admit that I didn’t.

Rebecca asked me a few questions, what had brought me to education (as a mature student) Whether I was hoping to use my practice to earn a living or whether I thought I would use my degree as a stepping stone.  It was different to talk to someone about what I may do to earn a living in the future rather than talking about my work.  It actually helped me focus and clarified a few things for me.

As I mentioned that I had been thinking of self employment, Rebecca gave me some information about The Venture Programme, where you can access a range of support and guidance. I hadn’t realised that the careers & employability were accessible to students for up to three years after graduation.

From here I am going to make a further appointment with careers so that I can discuss things in more detail, and find out what other support is available.

Leave a Reply

